Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
March 28 2012 3 28 /03 /March /2012 14:57

(Chorus)

I’m on a road traveling south of here. It’s cold and bitter, but I can keep myself lit.

When I sacrifice nothing I don’t shed a tear. I Know it’s hard and lonely, but I’ve grown used to it.

Verse 1

Something’s got a hold of me like I’m gripped in a vice.

Where were you when my life became cold as ice?

Despite the rainstorms you came out alright.

So, why’s it now that you’re judging my fight?

Whether it’s right or wrong, I will decide my own fate.

Where were you the day I discovered I hate?

Don’t kill the ties that we have by telling me I’m wrong.

Or telling me I’m gone and making it evident what I’m on.

We had a bond, but I will never be like you.

Second chances, take two would have never crumbled on you.

I couldn’t pray enough for the made up stuff to be snuffed out and make room for truth,

Kindle a strong fire give me fresh desire so that I might start anew.

It’s not that I hate you. It’s that you don’t understand.

I’m lost in a world where no one reaches out their hand.

Everyone that comes to help thinks they know how to fix it.

But when all is humiliated they just state the facts and remix it.

Verse 2

You’ve had ample opportunity to get this anvil off me,

But as this negativity breaks levy pouring down on me

I can’t help but think how disgusting free was for me,

And even if I could go back would I want to see the same thing unhappily?

I was deceived left unbelieved cold shoulders and barren shores,

Surrounded mist distorted dreams tearing seams with no remorse.

And of course save my soul. You’ve always been the one to be so bold,

But I’m lost below, way out of reach no beach. I know you will not go.

So, I wish in conversation that you would’ve been on my level,

But my stomach won’t settle. What? You think you deserve a metal?

You tried to fix me before. You and that same Riddle.

Trying to trick and take my seed, but I wont dance to your fiddle.

I ain’t getting any better. I have to go it on my own.

So, I imagine mystically where I’ve created home.

Cause in this life what I’ve been shown forces me to go alone.

This past of mine, I don’t condone, because, it chills me to the bone.

Verse 3

If you think hard enough you will turn and run

When you realize how difficult my life has become.

It’s not about now, it’s all night and day.

They don’t flee or cease to see. Can you see them in the way?

A simple question I must collect, can you see them yes or no?

Then how do you expect that you will help me grow?

I can’t believe your trying to say all this isn’t real.

You won’t believe no privacy is exactly how I feel.

It must be real distilled in thought, but if you can’t see them then I guess not. Oh!

But you’re here now while I’m dealing with this … huh? That explains a lot.

Why are you trying to move me from this spot when I’ve got them in my shot?

Quit trying telling me it ain’t real when I’ve finally got them caught.

Why do you bring up God when he’s the one who led me here?

He’s the one making sense of this helping me to cripple fear.

He’s singed every tie to my heart to help me not shed a tear,

Grip the wheel know where to steer and travel way south of here.

 

Share this post
Repost0

comments

Overview

  • : poetry-doggeral-et-al's name
  • : A mix of poetry, doggeral (intentionally mispelled (sic) as it IS doggerel), stories, familial stuff, and disjointed thoughts, posted to hopefully elicit dailogue(s), arguments, and/or a reader's ideas, poetry, etc. It is not polished, not especially literate, certainly not universal--sorry, it is just me.
  • Contact

Profile

  • poetry-doggeral-et-al
  • A pre-pubescent brain in an aging shell. One of a million monkeys, pounding a million keyboards, for a million years, hoping to write one good poem. A dreamer.
  • A pre-pubescent brain in an aging shell. One of a million monkeys, pounding a million keyboards, for a million years, hoping to write one good poem. A dreamer.

NOTE--Please Read

For specific interests, please click on specific interest(s) found in category box below "Links"  on right side, below.

Poetry and Doggeral: Ken's poetry

Stories and Fables: Ken's Prose

Thot-Jots: Ken's ramblings on various things

Family: Ken's biographical and autobiographical items--probably of little interest to non-family, maybe not even them.

Other categories: self-evident--I hope

 

You may notice some refreshingly different poetry on the blog. It is from a friend of mine who goes by Eyeshy

My ex-son-in-law, David, has been published here, now, as well.

Another newby: happybluetoes. She writes glimpses, short stories, and poetry. Welcome her with a comment.

Neominini has his first contribution on the blog. If you like his songs please do two things: enter a comment at the end of the article, and go to links down on right side of Home Page and go to his web-site, where you can listen to his music. Enjoy. 

Elisha Kayne--a published author has kindly contributed to the blog. Check her out.

 

Feel Free to COMMENT!

Free text

My personal favorites:

The Girl With the Cheshire Grin--absolutely my current "kc" favorite poem(?)

In My Soul (poetry-doggeral)

Camelot (poetry-doggeral)

Rain (a friend's poetry)

Cathedral (thot jots)

Mystic Window 1&2 (poetry-doggeral)

Do ye ken

The Kiss

Why do I tremble

Miranda--a work in-process